Marek Janowski

*appeared with touring orchestra only

  • Conductor
Marek Janowski

©Felix Broede

Official SNS

  • facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Youtube


Marek Janowski is one of the great masters of the music of the German tradition. He is recognized throughout the world for his interpretation of Wagner, Strauss, Bruckner and Brahms, Hindemith and the Second Viennese School. Born in Warsaw and educated in Germany, Marek Janowski’s artistic path led him to the leading opera houses and orchestras worldwide: from the Metropolitan Opera New York to the Bayerische Staatsoper Munich, from Chicago and San Francisco to Hamburg, from Vienna and Berlin to Paris.

He enjoys an outstanding reputation amongst the premier orchestras of Europe and North America and is recognized for his ability to create orchestras of international standing. From 2002 to 2016, Marek Janowski was Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin. He was Musical Director of the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Chief Conductor of the Gürzenich-Orchester in Cologne, First Guest Conductor of the Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and Music Director of the Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo. He is in his inaugural season as Artistic Director and Chief Conductor with the Dresdner Philharmonie. Janowski works with a chosen number of orchestras as guest conductor – Berlin Philharmonic, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra, Bayreuth Festival and Orchestra, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Oslo Philharmonic, NHK Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo Opera Namori and in the USA, the San Francisco Symphony, Chicago SO, and National Symphony Orchestra amongst others.

Marek Janowski has an extensive and distinguished discography. In 2014 he was awarded the “Ehrenpreis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik” (honorary prize of the German Critics’ Award) for his extensive life’s work. His Wagner opera cycle with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin was held to have set a new standard of performance in concertante opera. Janowski’s distinguished discography, built over the past 30 years, includes the iconic recording of the Wagner’s Ring Cycle with the Staatskapelle Dresden (1980-83). It also includes several other complete operas and symphonic cycles, many of which have been awarded international prizes. His Bruckner cycle with the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, recorded for Pentatone has also been accorded high praise. Marek Janowski conducted a complete Wagner Ring Cycle in the Tokyo Spring Festival between 2014-2017. He returns in 2020 to conduct performances of Tristan and Isolde.

In 1983 Marek Janowski made his first appearance with the WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne. In February 2018, his first CD together with the WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne with works by Hindemith (Symphonic Metamorphosis, Nobilissima Visione and Boston Symphony) was released by Pentatone. In addition a Beethoven cycle is planned. On occasion of Marek Janowski’s 80th birthday the WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne toured together with him through Germany, including a concert in the Berliner Philharmonie.