Yui Kakinuma (Management Collaboration)

  • Composer
  • Management Collaboration
Yui Kakinuma (Management Collaboration)

    Official SNS

    • facebook
    • Instagram
    • Twitter
    • Youtube


    Born in Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan in 1961.
    In 1981, he entered the Tokyo University of Fine Arts and Music where he studied composition under prof.Teizo Matsumura. Also he studied harmony and counterpoint under prof. Atsutada Otaka and prof. Masayuki Nagatomi.
    In 1986, he graduated from the above university by completing “Meditation Symphonique” with which he won the Japan Symphonic Foundation’s 9th annual best composition prize.
    In 1988, he won the 3rd annual Music Today contemporary music and composition award for his “Serenade” for oboe, 2Violoncellos and harp.
    From 1989, he has been working as an assistant of Toru Takemitsu, and has also been strongly influenced by him.
    In 1990, his 1989 composition “Arioso” for Orchestra was premiered by the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra conducted by Leonard Slatkin during a tour of Japan. This work won the 1st annual Idemitsu Music Prize in 1991.
    In 2010, his Organ piece “Vents de Pèrlinage” was awarded 2010 prix de la Fondation Marcelle et Robert de Lacour pour la musique et la danse, at the “concours 2010 de composition d’orgue du Festival de Saint-Bertrand de Comminges”

    He has been commissioned to work for Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra (1991), Osaka Symphoniker(2003), Aki Takahashi (1989), and other Japanese performers. Furthermore, his works was introduced by other foreign performers such as Slovak Chamber Orchestra (1995), English Chamber Orchestra (1999), Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment (2001), Prague Symphony Orchestra (2004), Haydn Trio Eisenstadt (2009), Austro-Hungarian Haydn Philharmonic (2009) etc.
    In 2009, he was invited to Haydn Festival in Eisenstadt as one of the composers commissioned for the bicentenary year worldwide composition project “Dedicated to Haydn”.
    Kakinuma has acquired a broad familiarity with music for Noh theater, original works for the Shakuhachi and other types of traditional Japanese music, as well as classical artistic music of other asian countries. His works are basically founded on these musical modes. He is attracted by music that offers such rich potential for performances as to obliterate the composer’s existence. He seeks to attain “the ultimate moment, through music whose concepts are utterly free of the limitations of words or logic.” This goal is strongly linked to his own experiences in performing Asian music.


    Major works

    Retentissement; Vc., Pf. (1982)
    Koku-sho; Pf., Bass (1984)
    Hymn; Tenor, Pf. (1985)
    Meditation Symphonique; Orch. (1986) —Awarded Japan Symphonic Foundation’s 9th annual best composition prize
    String Quartet No.1 (1987)
    Serenade; Ob., 2Vc., Hp. (1988) — Awarded 3rd annual Music Today contemporary music and composition award
    Paeonia; Pf. (1989) —Commissioned by Aki Takahashi
    Arioso; Orch (1989) —Premiered by Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra
    Entrance; Orch (1992) —Commissioned by Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra
    Music for Violin, Piano and Kendang; Vn., Pf., Indonesian drums (1994)
    Das Glasperlenspiel; Str. Orch. (1995) —Premiered by Slovak Chamber Orchestra
    “To the Cherry Blossom”; Shakuhachi, Vn., Str. Orch. (1999) —Commissioned by English Chamber Orchestra
    String Quartet No.2 (1999)
    The Mango Forest; Orch., Narrator (2003) —Commissioned by Osaka Symphoniker
    Legend – Tone poem based on “DOJOJI”; Orch.(2004) —Premiered by Prague Symphony Orchestra
    Echo and Narcissus; Org. (2005) —Commissioned by Yokohama Minatomirai Hall
    Tapisserie d’avril; Org. (2006)
    Lotus; Org. (2006) —Commissioned by Liliko Fukai
    Puer natus est nobis; Vn. solo (2006)
    Das Glasperlenspiel Nr.2; Solo Violin, Str. Orch. (2007)
    “From the Deep Forest”; Shakuhachi, Vn., Vc. (2007)
    KAGETSU – Etude on the name of Haydn; Vn., Vc., Pf. (2008) —Commissioned by Haydn Festival 2009
    The Garden of Haydn; Orch. (2009) —Premiered by Austro-Hungarian Haydn Philharmonic
    Vents de Pèrlinage; Org. (2010) —Awarded 2010 prix de la Fondation Marcelle et Robert de Lacour pour la musique et la danse
    Trois Miniatures (1. Camelia 2.Chrysanthemum 3.Lilium); Vn., Pf. (2009-2011)
    La Lune —Fugue pour orgue (2012) —Commissioned by Anne MacAlister
    Le Soleil —Fugue pour orgue (2012) —Commissioned by Kanagawa Kenmin Hall
    Hana; Org. (2012) —Commissioned by Tsukiji Hongwanji Temple
    Six Preludes; Cembalo (2013)
    Requiem (2015) —Premiered by Fabrice Ferez(Ob,), Akiko Kan-Deu(Org.)
    Qintet “Pinus” for 2Violins, Viola, Violoncello and Piano (2016)
    Kakitsubata; Org. (2017)
    Les etoiles —Fugue pour orgue (2018) -—Premiered by Akiko Kan-Dieu
    Salve Regina; Vn. solo (2018) —-Premiered by Chiharu Taki
    Sicut Cervus; unaccompanied mixed chorus (2018) —-Commissioned by Saint Gregorian house

    (July 2020)