• News

[Notice of conductor change] Czech Philharmonic Orchestra

Jiří Bělohlávek, chief conductor of the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, which is scheduled to give performances in Japan this September and October, passed away in Prague on May 31. We would like to express our sincere condolences and heartfelt prayers.

Therefore, the performances of the 2017 Czech Philharmonic Orchestra Japan Tour will be conducted by Petr Altrichter, one of the Czech Republic’s most outstanding conductors.
The programs for all concerts on the Japan tour will be the same as originally announced.
We will be grateful for your kind understanding.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
Tuesday, October 3, 2017, 7:00 PM Suntory Hall
Wednesday, October 4, 2017, 7:00 PM Suntory Hall
Learn More

  • News

Yuya Okamato wins 2nd Prize in the Queen Elisabeth Competition (Cello)!

Cellist Yuya Okamoto advanced to the final round of the The Queen Elisabeth Competition (Cello) and won 2nd Prize with an outstanding performance!

The Queen Elisabeth Competition, which was held in Brussels from May 8 to June 3, was established in 1951 and named for the former queen of Belgium. It is counted as one of the world’s three great music competitions. The categories are Piano, Violin, Voice/Singing, and Cello. Each year the competition in one of these four categories is held individually. The cello competition was established and carried out for the first time this year, in place of the former composition competition. Yuya Okamoto is now the 2nd prize winner of the first edition of this distinguished competition.

The jury features such distinguished names as Mischa Maisky, Peter Wispelwey, and Natalia Gutman?which is proof of the high expectations placed in this competition. The compulsory works include not only solo pieces and works with orchestra, but also special works unique to this competition, such as a composition commissioned by and performed for the first time at the Competition, and a Boccherini cello sonata with accompaniment by a Competition-designated cellist.

Okamoto was born in Tokyo on October 22, 1994. (He is 22 years old.) He is currently studying at the Hochschule für Musik in Munich.

He is a musician with a bright future.

For more information on Yuya Okamoto:
  • News

notice: Jiří Bělohlávek passed away at the age of 71 on June 1, 2017.

It is with sadness that we inform you that conductor Mr.Jiří Bělohlávek passed away on June 1, 2017 at He was 71 years old. We are sincerely praying for the repose of his soul.

Czech Philharmonic Official Homepage
  • News

Notice of casting change [Bolshoi Ballet] (2017.06.01)

Notice of cast change in the role of Myrtha in "Giselle" on Monday, June 5 (19:00)

Due to unavoidable circumstances, the role of Myrtha in "Giselle" on Monday, June 5 (19:00) will be performed by Alyona Kovalyova instead of Yulia Stepanova.
We apologize to those who were looking forward to Ms. Stepanova’s performance.
Thank you for your understanding.

Please note that Yulia Stepanova will appear as originally planned in the following performances:
"Giselle" (Myrtha), Sunday, June 4 (19:00)
"Swan Lake" (Odette and Odile), Thursday, June 8 (13:00)
"Swan Lake" (Odette and Odile), Sunday, June 11 (18:00)

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Bolshoi Ballet Japan Tour 2017
Japan Tour Special Site
  • News

[New album information] Diana Damrau, Soprano

New album information!!

1. Le Prophète, Act 1: "Mon coeur s'élance et palpite"
2. Robert le Diable, Act 4: "Robert, toi que j'aime"
3. Alimelek, oder die beiden Kalifen, Act 1: "Nur in der Dämm'rung Stille"
4. L'Étoile du Nord, Act 3: "Ah, mon Dieu !... C'est bien l'air que chaque matin"
5. L'Africaine, Act 5: "Là-bas, sous l'arbre noir... Fleurs nouvelles"
6. Il Crociato in Egitto, Act 2: "D'una madre disperata... Con qual gioia"
7. Le Pardon de Ploërmel, Act 2: "Comme cette nuit est lente à se dissiper !... Ombre légère"
8. Ein Feldlager in Schlesien, Act 3 : "Oh Schwester, find' ich dich!... Lebe wohl, geliebte Schwester"
9. Emma di Resburgo, Act 1: "Sulla rupe triste, sola... Ah questo bacio "
10. Les Huguenots, Act 2: "Ô beau pays de la Touraine"
11. L'Africaine, Act 1: "Anna, qu'entends-je ?... Adieu, mon doux rivage"

On Sale: 24 May 2017

Warner Music Japan (Japanese)